IELTS Score Chart

by Payal Mukherjee
0 comment

The IELTS (International English Language Testing System) score chart provides a breakdown of the scores for each section (Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking) as well as the overall band score. Here’s a general overview:

Listening, Reading, Writing: Each of these sections is scored on a scale of 0 to 9 bands. The scores are incremented in half-band increments (e.g., 5.5, 6.0, 6.5, etc.).

Speaking: The Speaking section is also scored on a scale of 0 to 9 bands, but the scoring criteria are slightly different from the other sections.

Overall Band Score: The overall band score is the average of the four individual section scores, rounded to the nearest half-band or whole band.

Here’s a breakdown of the overall band score and its corresponding English proficiency levels:

  • Band 9: Expert user
  • Band 8: Very good user
  • Band 7: Good user
  • Band 6: Competent user
  • Band 5: Modest user
  • Band 4: Limited user
  • Band 3: Extremely limited user
  • Band 2: Intermittent user
  • Band 1: Non-user
  • Band 0: Did not attempt the test

For example, if someone scores 7.0 in Listening, 6.5 in Reading, 6.0 in Writing, and 7.5 in Speaking, their overall band score would be (7.0 + 6.5 + 6.0 + 7.5) / 4 = 6.75, rounded up to a band score of 7. Therefore, their overall proficiency level would be considered “Good user.”

It’s essential to note that different organizations and institutions may have specific score requirements for admission or employment purposes, so it’s advisable to check the requirements of the organization you are applying to.

You may also like

Leave a Comment